Gluten Free at Joey D’s

 In Blog

Thousands of people struggle every single day with sensitivities and intolerance to gluten. Yet millions of others might say, ‘Ew, what’s gluten?”.

Gluten (from Latin gluten, “glue”) is a protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (reference Wikipedia)

Our restaurant is certainly not a gluten free environment, and we expect our guests to understand the risks in eating in our restaurant as cross contamination is always an unfortunate possibility. We take many measures when preparing gluten free options for our guests, including washing hands before and after touching gluten free items, using dedicated kitchen utensils and fresh pots of boiling water for pasta.

Our Options:

  • Certified Gluten Free Pizza
    • Marinara Sauce
    • Fresh Mozzarella
    • Mozzarella
    • Ricotta
    • Peppers
    • Onions
    • Mushrooms
    • Garlic
  • Certified Gluten Free Pasta
    • Marinara Sauce (Prepared in house using all gluten free ingredients)
    • Garlic and Oil
    • Add Grilled Chicken
  • House Salad
    • House Dressing
    • Oil and Vinegar
  • Many Boars Head Deli Products
    • Visit This Link on their website for exact items that are gluten free. We carry a great deal of their products and can look into getting something special order if asked.

Of course, this is not a conclusive list of our gluten free options, as we are always able to customize a dish to your request. Feel free to ask us if there is an item you are questioning, We may have missed something on the above list.

Please notify your server or when calling in if you have a sensitivity to gluten when ordering items like house salads or deli products so we can take extra precautions to avoid cross-contamination.

It is also worth noting, our vodka sauce, the vodka we use is distilled from wheat, we have been told distilled vodka does not actually contain gluten, but may bother those with Celiac Disease. Consult your healthcare professional before making any decisions to try a product that may cause you grief.



While we offer gluten-free menu options, we are not a gluten-free facility. Cross-contamination could occur and our restaurant is unable to guarantee that any item can be completely free of allergens. Please consult with your health care professional before consuming any food or drink.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search